National Book Awards is back after a two-year postponement due to the pandemic

Here’s the full list of finalists for the 39th National Book Awards

Continuing its mission of putting the spotlight on Filipino literature and authors, the National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) announce the comeback of the National Book Awards. This is such a great moment for the local publishing scene after the ceremony has been postponed for the past two years due to the pandemic. 

Established in 1982, The National Book Awards is one of the most esteemed prizes a Filipino author can receive. For its 39th edition, it will be honoring literary works released in 2019 and 2020. Its awards night will take place on July 30, 6 p.m., through an online broadcast on NBDB’s official Facebook page, simultaneously streamed on YouTube at Books Philippines. The event will be hosted by television hosts and radio broadcasters Sam Oh and Tina Ryan. 

“After more than two years, the National Book Awards is back. It’s an important—and overdue—celebration of Filipino literary talent and of the book as an art form,”  said NBDB executive director Charisse Aquino Tugade. “I know we all would have loved for this comeback to be held in person, but I invite everyone to join us on July 30 to be delighted, once again, by Filipino authors and literature.” 

Winners will be selected from each of the 24 categories. A total of 110 Philippine-authored books have a chance to bag the prestigious prize, with one to seven finalists per category. Check out the full list below:

Hello, readers! Do you have a story you want us to feature? Send us a message on Facebook, Instagram, Tiktok, and Twitter and let’s talk about it.