Comelec still waiting for appointments of new chairman, commissioners

Published July 7, 2022, 12:09 PM

by Leslie Ann Aquino

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) is still waiting for President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. to appoint their new chairman and commissioners.


“We continue to await when will the President appoint two new commissioners and the chairman so we can have a full seven-man Commission en Banc,” Comelec Acting Spokesperson John Rex Laudiangco said during the Laging Handa public briefing Tuesday, July 5.

Former Comelec Chairman Saidamen Pangarungan, as well as Commissioners George Garcia and Aimee Neri were bypassed by the Commission on Appointments (CA) last month.

This left the poll body with four commissioners namely; Commissioners Marlon Casquejo, Aimee Ferolino, Rey Bulay and Socorro Inting.

Inting is currently the acting chairperson of the Commission.

Although the members of the en banc is not yet complete, Laudiangco said their preparations for the Dec 5, 2022 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections (BSKE) will still continue.

“The Comelec is one of the three independent Constitutional Commissions,” he said.

“Even if the administration changed, the Comelec will just continue doing its mandate, which is to enforce and administer all laws related to elections,” Laudiangco added.