17 town mayors in Iloilo ‘graduating’ on June 30

Published June 24, 2022, 5:41 PM

by Tara Yap

THE League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP)-Iloilo holds a thanksgiving ceremony for 17 outgoing mayors of Iloilo Friday, June 24. (Tara Yap)
ILOILO CITY – Seventeen Iloilo town mayors are about to end their three-year term on June 30.

“We are bidding them farewell. They deserved to be recognized,” said Mayor Trixie Fernandez of San Enrique.

Fernandez, president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP)-Iloilo, hosted a thanksgiving event for the 17 mayors at Casa Real de Iloilo here Friday, June 24.

Stepping down next week are Mayors Gefree “Kalay” Alonsabe of Alimodian, Serafin Villa of Badiangan, Manuel Ganzon of Balasan, Carlos Cabangal of Banate, Ronilo Caspe of Cabatuan, Raul Banias of Concepcion, Ronaldo Golez of Dumangas, Mamerto Pelopero of Dueñas, Merlina Requinto of Estancia, James Esmeralda of Igbaras, Ben Margarico of Janiuay, Rey Grabato of Mina, Macario Napulan of Miag-ao, Carina Flores of Oton, Rema Somo of Sta. Barbara, Suzette Tenefrancia-Alquisada of Tigbauan, and John Tarrosa.

These mayors have served three consecutive terms, decided not to run, or lost their reelection bids.

For Fernandez, the mayors in the 42 towns of the province and component city of Passi did their best in their 2019-2022 service as local chief executives.

“Much of our time was focused on responses for the Covid-19 pandemic. We weren’t able to do other things, but we got our work done,” she added.

Also present during the event was Iloilo Gov. Arthur Defensor Jr. and provincial chiefs of government agencies.