Tight security at PICC as Comelec all set to proclaim 12 winning senators

Published May 18, 2022, 1:37 PM

by Martin Sadongdong

Tight security measures were laid out at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City on Wednesday, May 18, as the Commission on Elections (Comelec) is set to proclaim the 12 winning senators in the recently concluded national elections.


K-9 teams from the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Philippine National Police (PNP), and Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) swept the perimeter area to ensure the safety of the senators-elect, their family and guests, top government officials, foreign observers, members of the media, and other spectators.

Health protocols were also strictly observed to ensure that the event was Covid-proof, with security personnel constantly reminding attendees to wear face masks and practice physical distancing.

Among the government officials invited to the event were President Duterte, Senate President Vicente “Tito” Sotto, House Speaker Lord Allan Velasco, and Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo among others. Vice President Leni Robredo was also invited but she is in the United States for the graduation of her daughter, Jillian.

The program will start at 4 p.m. with the entry of the Comelec en banc which sits as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC). It will be followed by an interfaith prayer, and the singing of the national anthem.

Comelec Chairman Saidamen Pangarungan will then deliver his welcoming address and lead the reading of the proclamation.

The 12 winning senators will be called starting from rank number 12 to rank number one.

The senators-elect are the following: action star Robin Padilla, House Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda, broadcaster Raffy Tulfo, reelectionist Sherwin “Win” Gatchalian, Sorsogon Gov. Chiz Escudero, former Public Works and Highways Mark Villar, former House Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano, reelectionist Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri, reelectionist Joel Villanueva, former senator JV Ejercito, reelectionist Risa Hontiveros, and former senator Jinggoy Estrada.