IATF keeps NCR, 79 other areas under Alert Level 1 from May 16-31

Published May 15, 2022, 10:02 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

The government’s pandemic task force has approved the recommendation of retaining the Alert Level 1 status of the entire National Capital Region (NCR) from May 16 to 31, 2022, Malacañang said Sunday evening.


Communications Secretary Martin Andanar made this announcement a few hours before the current alert level status ends on May 15.

According to the Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases, 79 provinces, highly urbanized cities, independent component cities (PHIs), and 160 other component cities and municipalities are under Alert Level 1. This is 987 or 60 percent of the country’s total component cities and municipalities.

Aside from Metro Manila, the following PHIs in Luzon are under Alert Level 1 from May 16 to 31, 2022:

  • Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, and Baguio City
  • Region I: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, and Dagupan City
  • Region II: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, and City of Santiago
  • Region III: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, and Olongapo City
  • Region IV-A: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, and Lucena City
  • Region IV-B: Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, and Puerto Princesa City
  • Region V: Albay, Catanduanes, and Naga City

For the Visayas:

  • Region VI: Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Bacolod City, and Iloilo City
  • Region VII: Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City
  • Region VIII: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, and Tacloban City

For Mindanao:

  • Region IX: Zamboanga City
  • Region X: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, and Iligan City
  • Region XI: Davao City
  • CARAGA: Surigao del Sur and Butuan City

In addition, the following component cities and municipalities shall likewise be placed under Alert Level 1 for the same period without prejudice to those component cities and municipalities already under Alert Level 1:

  • CAR: Kiangan, Ifugao
  • Region V: Balud, Masbate; and Irosin, Sorsogon
  • Region VII: Calape, Bohol; Garcia Hernandez, Bohol; San Isidro, Bohol; San Miguel, Bohol; Alcoy, Cebu; Borbon, Cebu; Oslob, Cebu; Pilar, Cebu; Santander, Cebu; Tudela, Cebu; Bacong, Negros Oriental; Dauin, Negros Oriental; Valencia (Luzarriaga), Negros Oriental; and Zamboanguita, Negros Oriental
  • Region VIII: Tarangnan, Samar; and Zumarraga, Samar
  • Region IX: Mahayag, Zamboanga del Sur; and Diplahan, Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Region XII: Kalamansig, Sultan Kudarat
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM): Upi, Maguindanao.

Alert Level 2

Meanwhile, the following PHIs will be under Alert Level 2 from May 16 to 31, 2022, without prejudice to their respective component cities and municipalities, which may be under a different Alert Level classification:

For Luzon:

  • CAR: Benguet, Ifugao
  • Region IV-A: Quezon Province
  • Region IV-B: Occidental Mindoro, and Palawan
  • Region V: Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, and Sorsogon

For the Visayas:

  • Region VI: Antique and Negros Occidental
  • Region VII: Bohol, Cebu Province, and Negros Oriental
  • Region VIII: Leyte, Northern Samar, and Western Samar

For Mindanao

  • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Region X: Lanao del Norte
  • Region XI: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro, and Davao Occidental
  • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, and South Cotabato
  • CARAGA: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, and Surigao del Norte
  • BARMM: Basilan, Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi