Mayor Abby vows to create more innovative programs for Makatizens

After winning her third term as chief executive of Makati, Mayor Abby Binay vowed on Wednesday, May 11, to create more programs that will benefit the Makatizens.

"Thank you for your full trust and confidence that have sustained my administration for the past six years up to the present," Binay said in a statement.

"As I begin my third and final term as your Mayor, I assure you that Team Makatizens United will move full steam ahead with our innovative programs through more high-impact initiatives," she added.

Binay was proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Tuesday, May 10, after garnering 338,819 votes against her rival Joel Hernandez who got 16,640 votes.

Vice Mayor Monique Lagdameo also won her second term as vice mayor after receiving 314,070 votes against Rod Biolena who got 22,498 votes.

Members of the Binay-led Team United also gained landslide victories against their opponents.

Rep. Kid Peña won as 1st District representative of Makati after garnering 146,131 votes against his opponents Minnie Antonio and Ferds Sevilla.

Binay’s husband, Rep. Luis Campos, also won his second term as Makati’s 2nd District representative after leading with 164,948 votes over Ricardo Opoc.

The councilors of Team United have also defeated all their opponents.

The candidates for District 1 of Team Unity include Kid Peña for congressman; and Martin Arenas, Vir Jhong Hilario, Jojo Javier, Armand Padilla, Rene Saguisag, Joey Villena, Alcine Yabut, and Carmina Ortega for councilors.

Team United’s candidates for District 2 include Luis Campos for congressman; and Alden Almario, Doris Arayon, Dodik Baniqued, Sammy Cruz, Ina Sarosa, Bong Ariones, Ryansoler Calimbahin, and Ed Marquez for councilors.