Kurt Barbosa leads SEAG-bound taekwondo team

Reigning champions that include Tokyo Olympian Kurt Barbosa headline the national taekwondo team seeing action in the 31st Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi, Vietnam next month.

Kurt Barbosa, in red, at the Tokyo Olympics. (File Photo)

Barbosa hopes his Olympics experience would translate to another gold medal in the biennial meet where he won in the men’s finweight class in the 2019 edition that the country hosted.

Also out to defend their crowns are Dave Cea in the men’s lightweight and Samuel Morrison in the welterweight division of the kyorugi event.

Two-time Asian Games bronze medalist Kirstie Alora will also see action in the kyorugi event along with Arven Alcantara, Rheza Aragon, Jessica Canabal, Israel Cantos, Sharifa Dela Cruz and Laila Delo.

Jeordan Dominguez and Rodolfo Reyes Jr., who won gold medals in the poomsae event, will also return to compete along with Juvenile Crisostomo, Justine Macario, Raphael Mella, Nikki Oliva, Patrick Perez, Joaquin Tuzon and Darius Venerable.

Competitions start on May 16 and will end on May 19.

The PH team hopes to improve its previous medal haul of eight gold, nine silver and four bronze medals.