34th Awit Awards run smooth online show, Leanne & Naara, Ben & Ben win big

Published December 1, 2021, 11:27 AM

by Punch Liwanag

The 34th Awit Awards, the biggest music recognition show in the land, ran an online awards presentation without a hitch.

The big winners of the 34th Awit Awards were revealed on an online show presentation last Monday night, 29th of November 2021.

The music awards show chose to go the online route in presenting the biggest winners in the realm of Pinoy pop due to the still ongoing pandemic.

Nevertheless, it was a tight music themed show as presented by the Awit Awards as it honored the biggest music achievers of the past year. This year’s theme focused on #proudly homegrown as the more than 3-hour awards program streamed on YouTube and on Facebook on Awit Awards official channel and page.

Indie pop duo Leanne & Naara (Warner Music Phils.) received the top awards for Album Of The Year, for their set “Daybreak.” Meanwhile Ben&Ben’s “Di Ka Sayang, ” released on Sony Music Entertainment Phils., was accorded the Record of The Year honors. Moira Dela Torre and Jason Marvin, under ABS-CBN Star Music, was bestowed the Song of The Year plum for “Paubaya” which the pair had co-written.

In all, a diverse selection was recognized this year.

Three new artists won Best Performance By A New Recording Artist in their respective categories: Fana (ABS-CBN’s Star Music) for “Out,” Matty Juniosa (ABS-CBN’s Star Pop) for “Sayaw Ng Mga Tala,” and Nameless Kids (ABS-CBN’s DNA Music) for “Outlaws.”

Cross-cultural recording “Rise,” from Tarsier Records, collaborated upon by Grammy Award-winning R&B artist Eric Bellinger and local artists Inigo Pascual, Sam Concepcion, and Moophs, with Malaysian singer-songwriter Zee Avi, and BTS’ “Black Swan” composer Vince Nantes, won Best Global Recording.

Keiko Necesario (Warner Music Phils.) won Best Performance by A Female Recording Artist for “Right Next To You.” Sam Mangubat (ABS-CBN Star Music) won Best Performance by A Male Recording Artist for “Kulang Ang Mundo.” Best Performance by A Group Recording Artist was won by IV Of Spades (Warner Music Phils.) for “Sariling Multo (Sa Panaginip).”

Best Collaboration went to Jr Crown, Kevin Yadao (Warner Music Phils.) for “Bestiny.” Best New Artist in a Collaboration was won by JM Bales and KVN (ABS-CBN’s Star Pop) for “Magandang Dilag.”

Best Child Recording Artist was given to Bea C who won for her song, “The Kokak Song” (under ABS-CBN’s Star Pop).

Best Instrumental Performance was awarded to modern jazz group Four Corners MNL (Ditto Music Phils.) for “Cosmic Cycles.”

For the genre categories, Best Ballad Recording was won by Ben & Ben for “Sa Susunod na Habang Buhay” (SonyMusic Entertainment Phils.), Best Pop Recording was won by Rico Blanco for “Happy Feelin’”(Sony Music Entertainment). Best Rock/Alternative Recording was won by IV Of Spades for “Sariling Multo (Sa Panaginip)” under Warner Music Phils. The Best World Music Recording category was awarded to High Hello for their song “Palawan” (Viva Records). Best Novelty Recording was won by Hannah Precillas for “Sabi Ko Na Nga Ba” (GMA Music). Best Traditional/Contemporary Folk Recording was won by Moira dela Torre for “Kita Na Kita” (ABS-CBN Star Music). Best Dance Recording went to Zsara Tiblani for “G na G” (Polyeast Records). Best Inspirational Recording went to Ben & Ben for “Di KaSayang” (Sony Music Entertainment). Best Christmas Recording was won by Arman Ferrer for “Paskong Walang Hanggan” (Jesuit Communications). Best Rap/Hip Hop Recording went to Arvey for “Umaga” (ABS-CBN StarMusic). Best Jazz Recording went to Nicole Asensio for “Poblacion” (Warner Music Phils.).

Best R & B Recording was awarded to Leanne & Naara for “too soon” (Warner Music Phils). Best Regional Recording went to Route 83 for “Ania Ko” (Warner Music). Best Song Written For Movie/TV/Stage Play went to Moira Dela Torre for “Hanggang Sa Huli.”(ABS-CBN Star Music).

For the technical achievement plums, the following recognition was given: Best Musical Arrangement to the Itchyworms for “Waiting For The End To Start”(Sony Music Entertainment Phils).

Best Vocal Arrangement was won by Happy Laderas and Almond Bolante for their work in “Tala” by Acapellago (Viva Records). Best Engineered Recording was won by Tim Recla, for his work in “Marupok” by KZ Tandingan (ABS-CBN’s Star music). Album Packaging Excellence Award was awarded to graphic designer Kurt Byron Valle Maligaya and concept designer Jason Paul Laxamana for the “Rico Blanco Songbook” album under Viva Records. Best Music Video went to director Daniel Aguilar for “Dila” by Zild Benitez (Warner Music Phils).

This year’s results were tabulated by Awit Award’s s official auditor, Pwc Isla Lipana & Co.

The Most Streamed Artist Award was awarded to Ben & Ben, while the Most Streamed Song was “Paubaya” by Moira Dela Torre and Jason Marvin.

These winners and recognition bestowed were based on certified reports submitted by the record labels.

In addition, the “People’s Voice Awards” winners were likewise announced, with Favorite Female Artist was awarded to Elhanympha (Umg Philippines). Favorite Male Artist was awarded to Anthony Rosaldo (Gma Music). Favorite Group Artist was awarded to BGYO (ABS-CBN’s Star Music). Breakthrough Artist was awarded to Shane gG. (Ditto Music Philippines) while Favorite Song was “Hanggang Sa Huli” by SB19 (Sony Music Entertainment).

The winner of each category of “People’s Voice Awards” is chosen based on the highest number of text votes received as of November 19, 2021 in a poll conducted on letsvote.ph.

The Awit Awards had tight video performances from artists such as ALAMAT, Unique Salonga, Leanne & Naara, Noel Cabangon, Zack Tabudlo, and Extrapolation while and up and coming new acts paid tribute to the Dangal Ng Musikang Filipino Award recipient, April Boy Regino. The late hit singer, who popularized “‘Di ko Kayang Tanggapin,” “Umiiyak Ang Puso,” and other hits back in the mid-to-late 90’s was given the posthumous recognition with wife Madel Regino receiving in his stead.

Chairman of the Philippine Association of the Recording Industry (PARI) Antonio ‘Tony’ M. Ocampo opened the proceedings with a speech that reiterated the careful and meticulous choosing of nominees and eventual winners at the Awit Awards. “Every year, PARI conveys awards to outstanding music creators in recognition of their contribution to the advancement of original Philippine music. These creators are singers, songwriters, arrangers, instrumentalists, producers, recording engineers and those who contribute to the creation of sound recordings. The winners of this event were appraised by highly qualified jurors, who themselves are distinguished in their respective field of music,” the PARI chairman said.

The Awit Awards gave a total of 33 awards in its 34th year.