DepEd names 20 participating private schools in pilot face-to-face classes

Published November 16, 2021, 1:04 PM

by Merlina Hernando-Malipot

The Department of Education (DepEd) on Tuesday, Nov. 16, has identified the 20 private schools that will join the pilot implementation of limited face-to-face classes.


In a virtual press briefing, DepEd Director Jocelyn Andaya gave updates on the private schools that offer basic education that were chosen to participate in the pilot run.

Andaya explained that there were 79 private schools nationwide that submitted to the Regional Offices (ROs) their expression of intent to participate.

“Each region was requested to nominate a maximum of three private schools and 33 private schools were nominated by 12 ROs to the DepEd Central Office,” Andaya said.

Meanwhile, she explained “no private schools” were nominated in Region II, Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), and Region IV-B due to their “alert level classification.”

She added that there are also “no private schools were recommended by Region IV-A based on their assessment of applications.”

From the 33 nominated private schools, Andaya said that 20 private schools were selected and those who were not selected for pilot run will be considered in the expansion phase.

When it comes to the selection process for private schools, Andaya said that there were different considerations and prioritization among the nominated private schools for inclusion in the 20 schools for pilot run.

Andaya said that the school should be located in a different area of the region from the participating public schools (such as if the public school is in a rural part, prioritize a private school in an urban part of the region).

“Those with a different program offering from the participating public schools (e.g if the participating public schools are K-3, prioritize the private school offering SHS TVL),” Andaya said.

Andaya noted that the private schools that were prioritized were those that can accommodate more classes/sections; that are walking distance from the learners’ and school personnel’s homes; with more fully-vaccinated school personnel; and that cater to learners with special needs, IP, etc. e SHS TVL that participate in the SHS VP.

The following are the 20 private schools selected by the regional offices to participate in the pilot run:

Region 1

1. 100 Islands Cowboy Christian Learning Center

2. Our Saviour’s Foundation

Region III

3. Mother of Good Counsel Seminary

4. Academica de Meridien

5. Singapore School Clark

Region VI

6. St. Anthony’s College

7. Oxmont Memorial Academy

8. Gamot Cogon Waldorf School Inc.

Region VII

9. Sisters of Mary Schools Inc. – Boystown

10. Notre Dame of Abuyog (SHS – TVL track)

11. Mt. Moriah Christian Academy

Region IX

12. Metro Dipolog Baptist Academy

13. Deor & Dune Academe of Technology (SHS – TVL track)

14. St. Paul’s Institute of Technology (SHS – TVL track)

15. Xavier University Senior High School (SHS – TVL track)

Region XI

16. Ato Padada Christian School

17. BEST College of Polomolok (SHS- TVL track)

18. Banga Evangelical Church Elementary School, Inc.

19. Midsayap Montessori Centre

20. New Moriah Adventist ES

Andaya said that there will be an orientation with the 20 private schools on Wednesday, Nov. 17 before the start of pilot run in private schools next week, Nov. 22.