Aespa tops singer survey for best rookie of 2021, most anticipated in 2022

Published November 15, 2021, 7:44 PM

by Jonathan Hicap

K-pop girl group Aespa took first place as best rookie singer of 2021, most anticipated singer in 2022 and freshest song of the year in a survey.

To celebrate its 17th anniversary, Korean entertainment media outlet Joy News 24 conducted a survey from Oct. 12 to 19 among 200 entertainment industry people including employees of entertainment and broadcasting companies, film and broadcast content producers, and entertainment reporters.

Aespa (Twitter)

In the results that were published recently, 117 survey respondents (58.5 percent) overwhelmingly voted Aespa, composed of Karina, Giselle, Winter and Ningning, as the No. 1 best rookie singer of 2021.

Aespa, who debuted in November 2020, released their first mini-album “Savage” in October, which debuted at No. 20 on Billboard 200.

Placing second behind Aespa are girl group STAYC with 36 votes followed by Lee Mu-jin, 36 votes; MSG Wannabe, 11 votes; and Purple Kiss, two votes.

Jeon So-mi, Bookku Ddoong, Yang Ji Eun, Brave Girls, Mirae, Verivery, Weeekly, Just B, Ssak3, Ciipher, Hot Issue, Lightsum and Cravity got one vote each.

Most anticipated singers in 2022

Aespa also took first place in the survey on most anticipated singers in 2022 with 45 votes followed by BTS, 28 votes; IU, 24 votes; Lee Mu-jin, 19 votes; and STAYC, 15 votes.

JYP Entertainment’s new girl group got eight votes followed by Stray Kids, NCT and BLACKPINK, six votes each; Seventeen, The Boyz, ATEEZ, three votes each; and Weeekly, Mirae, Lim Young-woong, Jeon So-mi, Baby Monsters and ENHYPEN, two votes each.

Getting one vote each are G-Dragon, Gummy, Park Bo-ram, Yoon Ji-young, Yang Ji-eun, Zico, Fromis 9, MeloMance, AKMU, P1Harmony, Lee Seung-yoon, NiziU, TWICE, Viviz, Parc Jae-jung, Jannabi and Oh My Girl.

Freshest songs of the year

In the freshest songs of 2021 category, Aespa’s “Next Level” and “Savage” took the first two places with 80 votes and 22 votes, respectively.

AKMU’s “Nakka” took third place with 16 votes followed by Lee Mu-jin’s “Traffic Light,” 11 votes; “PotenDogs” OST “Stepped on Poop” and Jeon So-mi’s “Dumb Dumb,” eight votes each; MSG Wannabe’s “Foolish Love,” Stray Kids’ “Thunderous” and STAYC’s “ASAP,” six votes each; SHINee Key’s “Bad Love,” TXT’s “0X1=LOVESONG (I Know I Love You)” and NCT 127’s “Sticker,” two votes each.