IATF bares new quarantine classifications for November

Published November 12, 2021, 12:05 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

The government’s pandemic task force has decided to downgrade Mountain Province to the general community quarantine (GCQ) starting November 16 while more areas in the country shift to the new Alert Levels System (ALS).

File Photo (Ali Vicoy)

Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque made the statement after the Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases approved the recommendation on the expanded implementation of the ALS to other areas.

The move is in adherence to the multi-phased rollout provided under Executive Order (EO) No. 151 that Malacañang issued earlier this week.

The schedule for the expanded implementation of the ALS to other regions are:

Phase 2 (starting November 12, 2021):

  • Regions I
  • Region VIII
  • Region XII

Phase 3 (starting November 17, 2021):

  • Region II
  • Region V
  • Region IX

Phase 4 (starting November 22, 2021):

  • Cordillera Administrative Region
  • Region IV-B
  • Region XIII (CARAGA)
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)

To have an accurate assessment in placing areas under alert level 1, Roque said the IATF directed the National Task Force (NTF) Against COVID-19, National Vaccines Operations Center, and the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) to facilitate the provision of daily vaccination data, such as relevant data on target population and vaccination coverage per priority group.

Roque added that the Small Technical Group on Safety Seal was tasked to finalize the list of 3Cs (close, crowded, close-contact) establishments to be included in the Safety Seal metric for alert level 1 de-escalation.

Local government units (LGUs) are directed to conduct an inventory on the total number of 3Cs establishments and the number of 3Cs establishments with the Safety Seal.

The ALS was first piloted in Metro Manila in September this year.