IATF issues November quarantine classifications for non-ALS areas

Published October 29, 2021, 3:02 PM

by Ellson Quismorio

The government’s task force against the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) has released its updated quarantine classification list for areas in the country that are not covered by the new Alert Level System (ALS).

(Viktor Forgacs/ Unsplash)

The updated list is based on Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) Resolution No. 146-A, details of which Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque discussed during a virtual press conference Friday, Oct. 29.

The risk-level classifications of non-ALS provinces, highly urbanized cities, and independent component cities are as follows:

Mountain Province, Catanduanes, and Zamboanga City shall be under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from Nov. 1 until Nov. 15, 2021.

Abra, Cagayan, Isabela, City of Santiago, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino shall be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from Nov. 1 until Nov. 30, 2021.

Placed under GCQ–the lowest classification in terms of risk–for the whole month of November are Ifugao, Benguet, Apayao, Kalinga, Ilocos Sur, Dagupan City, Batanes, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Albay, Naga City, Camarines Norte, and Tacloban City.

Also placed under GCQ for the entirety of November are Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, General Santos City, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City, Dinagat Islands, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

All other areas not mentioned shall be placed under modified GCQ (MGCQ) for the whole month of November.

No location in the country has been placed under an enhanced community quarantine (ECQ)–the strictest quarantine level in relation to the pandemic.

The ALS, which was initially piloted solely in the National Capital Region (NCR), has been expanded to more areas in the country as per the same IATF resolution.