Four Filipino Dota 2 squads join BTS Pro Series Season 9

Published October 29, 2021, 5:55 PM

by Reynald I. Magallon

Four Filipino Dota 2 squads are set to join BTS Pro Series Season 9: Southeast Asia which will unfold on Friday, October 29.

Photo from KuyaNic Facebook Page

Filipino teams Polaris Esports, Omega Esports, Execration and OB Esports X Neon will be battling it out against some of the top teams in the SEA region in the nine-team, 17-day online tournament to get the lion’s share of the $60,000 prize pool.

Other teams invited in the tournament which will last until November 14 are Indonesian squads Nigma Galaxy SEA, Army Geniuses and BOOM Esports which is led by former TNC player Timothy John “Tims” Randrup together with fellow Filipinos Rolen Andrei Gabriel “skem” Ong and Erin Jasper “Yopaj” Ferrer.

Completing the cast are teams from Myanmar, the Yangon Galacticos, and Thailand, the Motivate.Trust Gaming.

Polaris will be parading its All-Filipino line up with Marvin “Boomy” Salvador, Rushton John Anthony “Natsumi” Vargas, Mc Nicholson “Mac” Villanueva, Nikko “Nikko” Bilocura, and Bryle “cml” Alvizo.

Execration will have Mark Anthony “Bob” Urbina, Ryan Jay “Raging Potato” Qui, Don Carlo “BDZ” Manalo, Ralph Richard “RR” Peñano and stand-ins Justine “Tino” Grimaldo and Joshua “Samael” Dela Serna while Omega will be bannered by Prince “Prince” Daculan, Piolo “Piolz” Dela Cruz, Van “Van” Manalaysay, Hiro “Hiro” Miyata and Ryniel “Zenki” Calvez.

OB Esports on the other hand will feature a squad with Jin “Palos” Lamatao, Michael “Enryu” Ladines and Mongolian Ravdan “Hustla” Narmandakh together with stand-ins James “Jamesy” John and Frederico “Abeng-” Dicdican.

Matches can be watched live in the tournament’s official Filipino broadcast partner, KuyaNic Facebook page and YouTube channel.