63 political aspirants gun for Cebu City posts

CEBU CITY — Familiar faces and totally unknown personalities are looking to earn a seat in the government.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec)-Cebu City said the October 1-8 filing of certificate of candidacy drew a total of 63 political aspirants.

Based on the filed COCs, eight persons will contend for the mayoralty post. The mayoralty aspirants include incumbent Vice Mayor Michael Rama of Barug-PDP Laban, former City Councilor Margot Osmeña of Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino, incumbent City Councilor Dave Tumulak and businessman Crisologo Saavedra.

Tumulak and Saavedra are running as independent candidates.

Other mayoralty candidates are Edgar Concha Jr., Jose Layon, Juanito Luna and Michael Montanoza.

Election Assistant Omar Mamalinta emphasized that those who filed their COCs cannot be considered officials candidates yet pending the review of angecy’s law department.

Those who filed COCs for vice mayor are incumbent City Councilor Raymond Alvin Garcia, Association of Barangay Councils President Flanklin Ong and former City Administrator Francisco Bimbo Fernandez.

For the congressional seat in the North District, five candidates have filed their COCs that included Cutie del Mar, actor Richard Yap incumbent City Councilor Niña Mabatid and independent candidates Avenescio Piramide and Manuel Momongan.

In the South District, eyeing a congressional posts are incumbent City Councilor Edu Rama, former Mayor Tomas Osmeña and Michael Bantasan.

A total of 44 aspirants filed their COCs for councilor in the north and south districts of the city.