POC presents monetary bonus to Tokyo Olympians, medalists

Published September 8, 2021, 3:11 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

POC President Bambol Tolentino, center, with Tokyo Olympics medalists, from left, Nesthy Petecio, Hidilyn Diaz, Carlo Paalam and Eumir Marcial (From POC Facebook page)

Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Bambol Tolentino personally led the presentation of monetary incentives to Filipino medalists and participants of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics last Wednesday during its General Assembly in Tagaytay City.

Weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz received the biggest purse amounting to P3 million for winning the country’s first Olympic gold medal, while boxers Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam were given P2 million for their silver-medal accomplishments. Fellow boxer Eumir Marcial also received P1 million for his bronze-medal feat.

The 15 non-medalists in Tokyo were also given P500,000 bonus from the POC and the Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation.

They were Elreen Ando, Irish Magno, EJ Obiena, Kristina Knott, Yuka Saso, Juvic Pagunsan, Bianca Pagdanganan, Margielyn Didal, Jayson Valdez, Kurt Barbosa, Remedy Rule, Luke Gebbie, Cris Nievarez, Carlos Yulo and Kiyomi Watanabe.

“In behalf of all Filipino athletes na naglaro sa Tokyo Olympics, grateful po kami sa suportang ibinigay ninyo sa amin,” said Diaz during the ceremony streamed online for non-attendees of the assembly.

The 19-player PH team that competed in the Tokyo Games was the most successful team in history after bagging the first Olympic gold medal and also winning the most number of medals with four.