CHED welcomes new technical panel for Pharmacy program

Published August 24, 2021, 8:21 PM

by Merlina Hernando-Malipot

The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) has approved the appointment of the new members of the Technical Panel for Pharmacy (TPP).

CHED Chairman Popoy De Vera (Photo from CHED)

“Pharmacists in the country and around the world have continued to provide direct patient care and perform frontline duties for the communities during this pandemic, as they can play a pivotal role in disease prevention, management, and containment,” said CHED Chairman Popoy De Vera in a statement issued Tuesday, Aug 24.

Composed of distinguished experts in the field coming from the academe, government, pharmaceutical industry, and various associations of the pharmacy practice, the new members of TPP took their oath of office virtually Aug. 23.

The virtual oath-taking was administered by De Vera.

The reconstituted TP-Pharma is headed by Dr. Aleth Therese L. Dacanay, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, University of Santo Tomas, and Immediate Past President, Philippine Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Representing the academe is Dr. Imelda G. Pena, who is a Professor of the College of Pharmacy, University of the Philippines-Manila.

From the government are Dr. Mildred B. Oliveros, a member of the Board of Pharmacy, Professional Regulation Commission, and Ms. Ma. Lourdes C. Santiago, Former Deputy Director General, Food and Drug Administration.

The pharmaceutical industry representatives, on the other hand, include the President of the Federation of Asian Pharmaceutical Associations Dr. Yolanda R. Robles; Atty. Jose Maria A. Ochave, Senior Vice President and Executive Committee Member, United Laboratories, Inc., and President, Ritemed Philippines, Inc.; and Ms. Rosario C. Barangan, Vice President for Manufacturing, E.L. Laboratories.

De Vera said that the appointment of the newly-reconstituted TPP is an “imperative to continually support the Commission towards quality pharmacy education.”

He added that the roles of these pharmacists, who are experts in their own special fields and representing the various sectors, shall comprise a “reliable, resilient, innovative, responsive and strong advisory arm” of the Commission in policy formulation and implementation consistent with the principles of transparency, accountability and participation.

Given this, De Vera asked the new members of the TPP to brief the CHED by guiding the Commission on areas that are within their competence.

“We need you to be part of our Technical Working Groups that will address very important questions facing higher education,” De Vera said. “Without you, the Commission will not be able to respond to these very rapid and urgent concerns that we have,” he added.