Simultaneous ECQ aid distribution in Metro Manila to start Wednesday

Published August 9, 2021, 10:07 AM

by Noreen Jazul

Distribution of the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) cash aid in Metro Manila will begin Wednesday (Aug. 11), Parañaque City Mayor and Metro Manila Council (MMC( Chairman Edwin Olivarez said Monday.


The MMC chairman said the start of ayuda distribution in all 16 cities and one municipality of Metro Manila will be done simultaneously.

“Nagkaroon po kami ng paguusap po nito lang, noong Saturday pong ito, at napagkasunduan po para makita po ng taong bayan na sabay sabay po ang pamamahagi ng lahat ng LGU [local government unit] (We had a discussion just last Saturday, and we agreed on it so that the public will see that the cash aid was distributed simultaneously by all LGUs),” Olivarez told DZMM Teleradyo in an interview.

Olivarez said the beneficiaries for the ECQ aid are those included in the Social Amelioration Program (SAP) 1 and 2, those who were wait-listed, and individuals listed by the grievance committee.

The mayor said individuals who were not included in the SAP 1 and 2, or the waitlist but are affected by the third ECQ can file their appeal to be included in the cash aid distribution with their respective LGU’s Grievance and Appeals Committee.

The MMC chair said the funds given to 11 LGUs, including Paranaque, were not enough to cover for all their beneficiaries.

In Parañaque, for example, the city has 604,000 beneficiaries but only received funds for 556,000 individuals.

Olivarez, however, said that the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) has vowed to give the remaining funds to LGUs through the supplemental budget that the national government has requested from Congress.

He said the financial aid will be distributed in Parañaque in two ways: through electronic wallet and face-to-face.