Presence of Delta variant detected in all Metro Manila cities — DOH

Published August 6, 2021, 2:42 PM

by Analou de Vera

The Department of Health (DOH) said that the presence of the highly contagious Delta coronavirus variant has been found in all cities of Metro Manila.


“All National Capital Region (NCR) areas now have a local Delta case,” said DOH Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire in an online press briefing on Friday, August 6.

Based on the data of the DOH, majority of the Delta variant cases in NCR were found in Las Pinas with 23 cases, followed by Pasig with 21; City of Manila with 16; Malabon with 12 cases.

Meanwhile, the cities of Mandaluyong, Caloocan, and Navotas have seven cases each; Makati with six cases. Also, the cities of Quezon, San Juan, and Pasay have five cases each; while Valenzuela and Taguig have four cases each.

Pateros and Paranaque City with two cases each, Marikina with one case, while the data on the Delta case in Muntinlupa is not yet provided as of this writing.

Alert level

Eight areas in NCR, together with others in different regions have been placed under Alert Level 4 due to high number of COVID-19 cases and hospital utilization rate, said Vergeire

“These alert levels will give us triggers kung ano yung kailangan na nating gawin at saka kung ano yung mga flagged areas natin,” said Vergeire.

Vergeire said that the“Alert Level 4” is that the risk classification for COVID-19 is “moderate to critical” and that the bed utilization is more than 70 percent regardless of the presence of the coronavirus variants.

NCR areas placed under this level are Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Pateros, Quezon City, Taguig, Malabon, Makati, and San Juan.

The other areas placed under the same alert level include:

*Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet.

*Ilocos Region: Ilocos Norte

*Cagayan Valley: Cagayan, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino

*Central Luzon: Angeles City, Bataan, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac

*Calabarzon: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City

*Western Visayas: Iloilo, Iloilo City

*Central Visayas: Cebu, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City

*Eastern Visayas: Tacloban City

*Northern Mindanao: Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Camiguin

*Davao Region: Davao City

*Soccsksargen: General Santos City

For Alert Level 3, “case counts are increasing but their healthcare utilization is just starting to rise regardless of the presence of the variant,” said Vergeire. These areas are:

*NCR: Caloocan, Mandaluyong, Manila, Marikina, Navotas, Paranaque, Pasig, Valenzuela, Pasay

*CAR: Abra, Kalinga, Mountain Province

*Ilocos: Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Dagupan City

*Cagayan Valley: Batanes, Santiago City, Isabela

*Central Luzon: Bulacan, Nueva Ecija

*Calabarzon: Rizal

*Mimaropa: Marinduque, Romblon, Puerto Princesa

*Bicol: Masbate, Naga City, Catanduanes

*Western Visayas: Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz

*Eastern Visayas: Leyte, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte

*Zamboanga Peninsula: Zamboanga del Sur

*Northern Mindanao: Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Oriental

*Davao Region: Davao Occidental

*Soccsksargen: Cotabato (North Cotabato), Sultan Kudarat

*Caraga: Surigao del Sur

For Alert Level 2, this means that COVID-19 transmission is “low and decreasing,” the healthcare utilization rate is low, but the presence of Delta variant was detected. These areas are:

*CAR: Ifugao

*Ilocos: La Union

*Central Luzon: Zambales, Aurora

*Mimaropa: Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro

*Bicol: Camarines Sur, Sorsogon

*Western Visayas: Guimaras, Negros Occidental

*Central Visayas: Bohol, Siquijor

*Eastern Visayas: Eastern Samar, Ormoc City, Samar (Western Samar)

*Zamboanga Peninsula: Zamboanga Del Norte, Zamboanga City

*Northern Mindanao: Misamis Occidental

*Davao Region Davao Del Norte, Davao De Oro, Davao Del Sur, Davao Oriental

*Soccsksargen: South Cotabato, Sarangani

*Caraga: Agusan Del Norte, Dinagat Islands, Surigao Del Norte, Agusan Del Sur, Butuan City

*BARMM: Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Sulu

For Alert Level 1, it means that the transmission is low and decreasing, healthcare utilization rate is also low, and there is no Delta variant case detected. These areas are:

*Mimaropa: Palawan

*Bicol:Camarines, Norte, Albay

*Central Visayas: Negros Oriental

*Eastern Visayas: Biliran

*Zamboanga Peninsula: Zamboanga Sibugay

*BARMM: Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi, Basilan