CCP, Kaisa sa Sining Visayas network announces recipients of KSSLAP awards

The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Kaisa Sa Sining Visayas Network has recently announced the recipients of the first KSSLAP (Kaisa Ini sa Sining, Lunsay nga Artistang Pilipino) Awards. Due to the present quarantine and travel restrictions, the KSSLAP Awards ceremonies will be held online from Aug. 24 to 27, 2021 through CCP’s official Facebook page.

CCP KSS awardees

The awardees are Lutgardo Labad for theater and cultural administration (Bohol), Alphonsus Tesoro for cultural administration (Capiz), Marilyn Gamboa for cultural administration (Negros Occidental), Ian Rosales Casocot for literature (Dumaguete), Peque Gallaga for film and theater (Bacolod), Jess de Paz for dance (Tacloban), Dr. Jesus C. Insilada for literature and cultural education (Calinog-Iloilo), Dr. Elizabeth Susan Vista-Suarez for music (Dumaguete), Dennis Sugarol for music (Cebu), Negros Cultural Foundation, Silliman University Culture and Arts Council, Calbayog City Arts and Culture Office, and the Youth Advocates Through Theater Arts (Dumaguete).

The Kaisa sa Sining Regional Arts Center is a partnership program of the CCP through its Cultural Exchange Department ,which was launched in 2014 with the aim of strengthening the CCP’s linkages and cooperation with regional educational institutions, non-government organizations, and local government units. It's a partnership that came into fruition to broaden public participation in the arts, promote and showcase artistic excellence, and facilitate a vibrant collaboration between communities. In the past seven years, the cooperation and exchanges between CCP and the KSS network have become more dynamic. To date, the KSS network has already grown to a total of 56 organizations in 46 communities in the regions—21 in Luzon, 17 in Visayas, and 18 in Mindanao.

CCP KSS awardees

The KSSLAP Awards is one of the action plans and projects that the KSS Visayas agreed to implement during a KSS regional forum held in Roxas City last 2018 to recognize outstanding artists, cultural workers, and organizations. In fulfillment of this plan, the CCP CED facilitated the conceptualization and planning of the said project. In the last quarter of 2019, a five-member technical working committee was formed composed of key representatives from four KSS Visayas organizations with CED as the lead facilitator. The program guidelines were made and disseminated to all the KSS Visayas networks back in February 2021. The Selection Committee was formed in May 2021 composed of prominent leaders, artists, and practitioners from various communities and sectors in Visayas.

The KSSLAP Awards aim to give recognition to deserving Visayan individuals and organizations who have exemplified commendable work and services in cultural and artistic endeavors. It also gives acknowledgement to those who have been in the forefront of the research, development, preservation, education, and promotion of arts and culture in Mindanao for at least 10 years or more. For one to be awarded of such, an awardee must have made exceptional accomplishments in creative work, leadership, resource management, education, artist support, audience development, community service, solidarity. and partnership.

The 17 members of CCP KSS Visayas network are the Province of Capiz, University of Antique, Central Phil. University - Iloilo City, Municipality of Sta. Barbara - Iloilo, University of St. La Salle - Bacolod City, Negros Cultural Foundation, City of Bago, City of Himamaylan, Municipality of Murcia, Silliman University-Dumaguete City, Holy Name University - Tagbilaran City, Arts Council of Cebu, Calbayog City Arts and Culture Office, University of Eastern Phils. - Catarman Samar, Leyte Normal University - Tacloban City, City of Ormoc, St. Joseph College - Maasin Leyte.