Muntinlupa police set up border control points; only APORs allowed to pass

Published August 1, 2021, 10:45 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

The Muntinlupa police have put up border quarantine control points and checkpoints in major areas in the city in compliance with the directive that only Authorized Persons Outside their Residences (APOR) will be “allowed to travel into and out of said NCR [National Capital Region] Plus Area.”

Muntinlupa police manning a checkpoint at the boundary of Muntinlupa and San Pedro, Laguna Sunday (Muntinlupa PNP)

According to Muntinlupa police chief Police Co. Melecio Buslig, the two border quarantine control points are located at the Muntinlupa-San Pedro, Laguna boundary and Susana Heights toll gate exit, both located in Brgy. Tunasan.

The two control points are being manned by the Muntinlupa police and District Mobile Force Battalion.

The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases issued Resolution No. 130-A on July 29 stating that “‘particular to Cavite, Bulacan, Laguna, and Rizal, which together with the National Capital Region, shall form the NCR Plus Area, only Authorized Persons Outside their Residences as provided for under Section 7(2)(a) of the Omnibus Guidelines on the Implementation of Community Quarantine in the Philippines, as amended, shall be allowed to travel into and out of said NCR Plus Area.”

Interior Sec. Eduardo Año directed the setting up of quarantine control points along the borders of the NCR Plus in Cavite, Bulacan, Laguna, and Rizal in compliance with the IATF resolution.

Año said the police will only allow APORs to pass and will recognize IATF IDs issued by regulatory agencies; and valid IDs or pertinent documents issued by establishments allowed to operate under the current quarantine classification.

Non-APORs will be prohibited to pass and will be asked to return to their homes, according to the Philippine National Police.

Año said any violation of the prohibitions may constitute non-cooperation of the person or entities which is punishable under Section 9 of RA 11332.

The government put the NCR under GCQ with heightened restrictions until Aug. 5 and under the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ), the strictest level, from Aug. 6 to 20.

Metro Manila mayors earlier signed Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Resolution 21-15 last Wednesday requesting the IAT to put NCR under ECQ owing to the increasing number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases and the threat of the highly contagious Delta variant.

In the resolution, the mayors noted that “health experts project a further increase in the number of COVID-19 cases in the NCR to 11,000 daily cases by the end of September 2021 based on the assumption that the Delta Variantis sixty percent (60%) more transmissible and the Prevent-Detect-Isolate-Treat-Reintegrate (PDITR) strategies and vaccination performance being held at status quo.”

They said they were willing to place NCR under ECQ for two weeks “should the National Government have available funds for a Social Amelioration Program (SAP) to be distributed to the underprivileged individuals and families.”

They also said that during the ECQ, “there must be an allocation of at least four million vaccines for the NCR which they commit to be administered during the two-week period. For this purpose, the Metro Manila Mayors request to open the vaccination to the general population without classification.”