Cebu, Laguna, more areas shift quarantine classification as COVID-19 cases surge

Published August 1, 2021, 4:35 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

More areas have shifted community quarantine classifications for the first half of the month following the recent surge of coronavirus (COVID-19) cases.

File photo (Maria Tan/AFP)

In a statement, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque announced that Cebu Province was now placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from August 1 to 15, 2021.

The province was originally under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ).

From GCQ with heightened restrictions, Laguna will now be under MECQ until August 15. Joining it in the same quarantine classification was Aklan.

Meanwhile, Apayao was moved from the regular GCQ to MECQ until August 15.

On July 31, President Duterte approved moving more areas to stricter community quarantine classifications for August due to the recent surge in COVID-19 cases and to prevent the spread of the dreaded Delta variant.

The National Capital Region (NCR) will be under the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from August 6 to 20, 2021. Before the shift, Metro Manila will be under GCQ with heightened and additional restrictions until August 5.

Also under ECQ are Gingoog City, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, and Cagayan de Oro City from August 1 until August 7, 2021.

Residents of Gingoog City, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, and Cagayan de Oro City were assured of cash assistance worth P1,000 or up to P4,000 per family.

Meanwhile, President Duterte has ordered the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) to source the funding for cash assistance for residents who will be affected by NCR’s scheduled shift to ECQ.