More areas move to stricter quarantine classifications due to COVID spike

Published July 30, 2021, 11:31 AM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

President Duterte has approved moving more areas to stricter community quarantine classifications for the month of August due to the recent surge in coronavirus (COVID-19) cases and to prevent the spread of the dreaded Delta variant.

(Mark Balmores / MANILA BULLETIN File Photo)

In a statement, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said the National Capital Region (NCR) will be under the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from August 6 to 20, 2021. Before the shift, Metro Manila will be under the general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened and additional restrictions until August 5.

Also under ECQ are Gingoog City, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, and Cagayan de Oro City from August 1 until August 7, 2021.

The following areas are under the modified ECQ (MECQ) from August 1 to 15 of this year:

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bataan
  • Cebu City
  • Cebu Province
  • Mandaue City
  • Lapu-Lapu City

Twenty areas were placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions for the first half of the month:

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Lucena City
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Aklan
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Davao de Oro
  • Butuan City

On the other hand, the following areas were placed under regular GCQ for the entire month of August:

  • Baguio City
  • Apayao
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Cotabato City

All other areas were placed under the modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) classification from August 1 to August 31, 2021.