Only essential travel allowed in Capiz – Gov. Contreras

Published July 20, 2021, 3:52 PM

by Tara Yap

ILOILO CITY – The province of Capiz will only allow essential travel in its area of jurisdiction as COVID-19 cases rise in neighboring areas of Panay Island.

Gov. Esteban Evan Contreras II has issued an executive order that establishes checkpoints in the borders of Capiz province.

This is after the national government’s COVID-19 Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) has placed both Iloilo City and Iloilo province under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) since July 17 and will last until Jul 31.

Capiz is still under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until July 31.

Aside from Iloilo, Capiz borders the neighboring province of Aklan.

With the new executive order, Contreras specifically allow the entry of Authorized Persons Outside Residence (APORs).

This includes government workers on official travel and with a valid travel order; medical personnel; frontline workers; workers of businesses that are operating in Capiz province; patients that will be admitted to hospitals; and other emergencies.

Capiz will also allow people passing through Capiz province just as long as they have valid papers.

As of July 19, the Western Visayas regional office of the Department of Health (DOH) has recorded 574 active COVID-19 cases.