Bren keeps core players intact, adds L3bron to 10-man roster for MPL S8

Published July 12, 2021, 9:11 PM

by Jeremiah Sevilla

Photo from Bren Esports

Bren Esports retained its world championship-winning core while adding veterans and rookies to its lineup in a bid to reclaim the trophy in the MPL Philippines Season 8.

M2 World Championship stars Karl “KarlTyz” Nepomuceno, Angelo “Pheww” Arcangel, CJ “Ribo” Ribo, Allan “Lusty” Castromayor and David “FlapTzy” Canon will seek to regain the MPL-PH throne they won back in Season 6.

Bren also kept EJ “Ejhay” Sambrano and reinserted Mico “Coco” Sampang, who served as the sixth man in M2 but did not play a single game.

The Bren Chong-owned organization tapped the services of ex-Aether standout and famous streamer Raven “L3bron” Alonzo.

L3bron was an MPL veteran who played for Setsuna “Dogie” Ignacio’s teams Aether Valkyrie in Season 1 and Aether Atlas in Season 3.

Completing Bren’s 10-man roster are rookies Maj “Malik” Malik and Rimuru.

Still at the helm of the black and yellow squad is two-time world champion coach Francis “Duckey” Glindro.

Bren dominated the Mobile Legends professional scene by capturing its second MPL trophy (first as Aether Main) in Season 6 and ruling The Nationals Season 2 before conquering M2.

However, Bren fell to a fourth-place finish in Season 7 after losing to eventual champion Blacklist International in the upper bracket and crashing out at the hands of Execration.