F2 Logistics to skip PVL Open Conference

Published July 9, 2021, 5:08 PM

by Carlo Anolin

The F2 Logistics Cargo Movers have opted to skip the Premier Volleyball League (PVL) Open Conference, which kicks off on July 17 in Laoag City, Ilocos Norte.

The F2 Logistics Cargo Movers have opted out to skip the PVL’s Open Conference which starts July 17. (F2 Logistics)

In a statement Friday, July 9, F2 has cited logistical problems, COVID-19 concerns, and injuries as factors on why the management decided to sit out of the upcoming conference.

“We should have been training in a bubble earlier, but due to unfavorable logistical circumstances, we need to move not only the venue, but also the start of our bubble training,” the statement read.

“Since it has been more than a year of no actual training, old injuries and even new, have surfaced.”

The statement added that some of F2’s athletes needed to go out of the bubble for their scheduled vaccination but may become another hurdle due to the “very strict” rules in isolation pre-returning to the bubble.

Some of F2’s players also have exposures to COVID-19, the team revealed.

Another challenge would be some of their key players were invited to the national team but the Cargo Mover clarified that they will suit up for the next conference.

“Our system has always been known to compete with the highest level of readiness as possible. Though we have requested for a little extension, we highly respect the decision of the league to push through,” the statement read.

“As it was hard for us to anticipate league timelines, we are sure it was equally not harder for the league to secure permits, place protocols and update all teams. This league deserves a better version of our team. We will work harder to achieve that for the next conference,” added F2, thanking its supporters for being “our pillars of strength” and seeking their understanding of the situation.

Under the tutelage of multi-awarded coach Ramil de Jesus, F2 is led by former De La Salle stars and Philippine team members Aby Maraño, Ara Galang, Dawn Macandili, Desiree Cheng, Kim Kianna Dy, Kim Fajardo, and Majoy Baron.