Natividad leads CSB in NCAA women’s speed kicking event

Published July 6, 2021, 3:02 PM

by Waylon Galvez

College of St.Benilde bet Loralee Natividad performs in the speed kicking event of the online taekwondo competition in the NCAA Season 96. (GTV/NCAA Images)

Reigning MVP Loralee Natividad powered College of St. Benilde’s campaign in the final two days of the speed kicking event of the online taekwondo competition in the NCAA Season 96 last Monday, July 5.

Natividad, the MVP in the women’s taekwondo last season, tallied 7.067 points to claim the gold medal in the welterweight division as she bested Aliciarose Gonzales of Season 96 host Letran.

Gonzales took the silver medal with 6.400 points, while teammate Shiela Mae Samson settled for the bronze medal with 6.317 points as the games were televised over GTV channel of GMA-7, the league’s new broadcast partner.

Two more CSB bets emerged as winners as Anne Christine Obenza and Lucille Cunanan clinched the gold medals in the middleweight and heavyweight categories, respectively.

The Lady Blazers went 1-2 in the middleweight division as Obenza’s 6.583 points earned her the gold medal while Ashley Judd Felipe finished with 6.175 for the silver medal. Arellano University’s Kezia Eustaquio scored 6.142 points to take the bronze medal.

Cunanan capped off CSB’s day of dominance as she scored 6.475 points for the gold medal in the heavyweight category, beating Arellano’s Beverly Michelle Bandiola, who scored 6.358 points for the silver, while San Beda’s Roxanne Candatu had 6.083 points for the bronze.

The Taft-based school finished the six-day tournament with four gold medals, three silvers and three bronzes. The Chiefs placed second with a gold, two silvers and two bronzes, while the Red Jins had a 1-1-2 medal haul in third place.

The Blazers also ruled the men’s division with five gold medals.

Arellano’s gold medal in the competition went to Paulene Rey, who won the lightweight division with 6.508, beating Rocio Cortez Diaz of CSB (6.433) and her schoolmate Francis Claire Apuya (6.250).

Jose Rizal University also had one gold in fourth place, followed by San Sebastian with one gold and one bronze, and Letran with two silvers.

The junior speed kicking competitions will begin Tuesday.