Duterte approves new quarantine classifications; NCR stays under stricter GCQ until July 15

Published June 29, 2021, 9:19 AM

by Genalyn Kabiling

The government has kept the community quarantine regulations across the country at varying levels this July to stem the coronavirus outbreak.

President Rodrigo Duterte (file photo/Malacañang)

President Duterte has approved the new community quarantine status in the country recommended by the government task force in charge of addressing the pandemic, according to Presidential spokesman Harry Roque.

Under the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases, Metro Manila, Rizal and Bulacan will stay under general community quarantine (GCQ) “with some restrictions” from July 1 to 15. Laguna and Cavite will be under GCQ “with heightened restrictions” until mid-July.

The areas under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), the second of the four lockdown levels, from July 1 to 15 are the following:

  1. Cagayan
  2. Apayao
  3. Bataan
  4. Lucena City
  5. Puerto Princesa
  6. Naga
  7. Iloilo City
  8. Iloilo
  9. Negros Oriental
  10. Zamboanga del Sur
  11. Zamboanga del Norte
  12. Cagayan de Oro City
  13. Davao City
  14. Davao Oriental
  15. Davao Occidental
  16. Davao de Oro
  17. Davao del Sur
  18. Davao del Norte
  19. Butuan City
  20. Dinagat Islands
  21. Surigao del Sur

Other areas under GCQ until July 30 are the following:

  1. Baguio City
  2. Ifugao
  3. City of Santiago
  4. Isabela
  5. Nueva Vizcaya
  6. Quirino
  7. Batangas
  8. Quezon
  9. Guimaras
  10. Aklan
  11. Bacolod City
  12. Negros Occidental
  13. Antique
  14. Capiz
  15. Zamboanga Sibugay
  16. City of Zamboanga
  17. Iligan City
  18. General Santos City
  19. Sultan Kudarat
  20. Sarangani
  21. Cotabato
  22. South Cotabato
  23. Agusan del Norte
  24. Surigao del Norte
  25. Agusan del Sur
  26. Cotabato City

The rest of the Philippines will remain under the modified GCQ (MGCQ) for the month of July.

Roque noted that although the President has approved the IATF recommendation, the new community quarantine restrictions are still subject to the appeal of the local government units.

Under the quarantine rules, Roque said gyms and fitness centers located in Metro Manila, Rizal and Bulacan will be allowed to operate up to 40 percent capacity. Operations of indoor sports courts will be permitted at 50 percent capacity.

In these three GCQ areas, museums and historical sites may operate up to 40 percent capacity subject to compliance with minimum public health standards. Personal care services like salons and beauty clinics are allowed at 50 percent only for services not requiring mask removal. Also allowed are indoor dining at 40 percent capacity, outdoor dining at 50 percent, and outdoor tourist attractions at 50 percent capacity.

In Laguna and Cavite, the IATF recommended that gyms and fitness centers, indoor sports courts, museums and other historical sites are not allowed to operate during the GCQ with “heightened restrictions.” Dining indoors is allowed at 20 percent capacity while outdoor is permitted at 50 percent.

As of June 28, the country has recorded 1.4 million cases of coronavirus, including 52,029 active cases and 24,456 deaths.