IATF recommends NCR to remain under GCQ with 'some restrictions' until July 15; more areas under GCQ, MECQ

Published June 28, 2021, 10:45 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

The government’s pandemic task force has recommended keeping the National Capital Region (NCR) under the general community quarantine (GCQ) with some restrictions until July 15, 2021.

Manila Bulletin File Photo

Based on the presentation of Health Secretary Francisco Duque III during President Duterte’s pre-recorded public address on the evening of July 28, the provinces of Bulacan and Rizal are also under GCQ with some restrictions until July 15.

Cavite and Laguna will be under GCQ with heightened restrictions from July 1 to 15.

NCR, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal used to be collectively known as the NCR-plus since late March this year due to the spike in coronavirus (COVID-19) cases. The bubble area was effectively dissolved last month due to the decline of cases in Metro Manila.

Meanwhile, the following are under GCQ for the entire month of July:

  1. Baguio City
  2. Ifugao
  3. City of Santiago, Isabela
  4. Nueva Vizcaya
  5. Quirino
  6. Batangas
  7. Quezon
  8. Guimaras
  9. Aklan
  10. Bacolod City
  11. Negros Occidental
  12. Antique
  13. Capiz
  14. Zamboanga Sibugay
  15. City of Zamboanga
  16. Iligan City
  17. General Santos City
  18. Sultan Kudarat
  19. Sarangani
  20. Cotabato
  21. South Cotabato
  22. Agusan del Norte
  23. Surigao del Norte
  24. Agusan del Sur
  25. Cotabato City

The following areas are recommended to be placed under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until July 15, 2021:

  1. Cagayan
  2. Apayao
  3. Bataan
  4. Lucena City
  5. Puerto Princesa
  6. Naga
  7. Iloilo City
  8. Iloilo
  9. Negros Oriental
  10. Zamboanga del Sur
  11. Zamboanga del Norte
  12. Cagayan de Oro City
  13. Davao City
  14. Davao Oriental
  15. Davao Occidental
  16. Davao de Oro
  17. Davao del Sur
  18. Davao del Norte
  19. Butuan City
  20. Dinagat Islands
  21. Surigao del Sur

The rest of the Philippines are under the modified GCQ (MGCQ) for the month of July.

The said quarantine classifications were subject to the appeal of the various local government units (LGUs).

Despite the decline in the number of COVID-19 cases, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque thought it was impossible to change the current quarantine classification of Metro Manila.

“I will not pre-judge. Pero sa tingin ko po: GCQ po ang ating current quarantine classification sa Metro Manila, siguro po mahirap magbago ng classification as of now (But here’s what I think: Metro Manila is currently under GCQ, it would be difficult to change that as of now),” he said.