Long weekend in Rizal province on June 11-13

Published June 11, 2021, 8:03 AM

by Nel Andrade

Residents and workers in Rizal province are in for a long weekend break, starting Friday, June 11, due to the twin holidays preceding Sunday.

Proclamation No. 1150, signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, by the authority of President Duterte, had earlier declared June 11, 2021, as a special non working day in the entire province, to ‘give the residents full opportunity to celebrate the 120th founding anniversary and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies, subject to community quarantine, social distancing, and other public health measures’.

Aside from June 11, June 12, Saturday, which is Independence Day, is a regular holiday in the entire country, making the three days, including Sunday, a ‘long weekend’.

The province was created by virtue of Act No. 137 of the First Philippine Commission on June 11, 1901. The original province was then composed of 29 municipalities which were Cainta, Caloocan, Las Piñas, Marikina, Montalban, San Juan, San Mateo, Makati, Taguig, Malabon, Angono, Baras, Binangonan, Antipolo, Cardona, Jalajala, Morong, Pililla, Tanay, Taytay and Teresa, before Metro Manila was created in 1975.

At present, the provinceis composed of one city — Antipolo City — and 13 municipalities – Angono, Baras, Binangonan, Cainta, Cardona, Jalajala, Morong, Pililla, Rodriguez (Montalban), San Mateo, Tanay, Taytay, and Teresa.

Antipolo City became the capital of the province by virtue of Republic Act No. 11475 signed by President Rodrigo Duterte on June 19, 2020, coinciding with the 159th birth anniversary of National Hero, Dr. Jose Rizal, from whose surname the province was named after.