Areas under MECQ urged to ramp up strategies vs COVID-19

Published June 2, 2021, 6:31 PM

by Analou de Vera

In this file photo taken on April 21, 2020, a member of the Philippine National Police Special Action Forces uses a megaphone to remind shoppers to practice social distancing during a government imposed enhanced quarantine as a preventive measure against the COVID-19 novel coronavirus in Manila. (Photo by Maria TAN / AFP / MANILA BULLETIN)

The areas that were placed under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) have been urged to further strengthen their efforts to combat the rising number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases.

Prevent, Detect, Isolate, Treat and Reintegrate strategy should be strictly implemented, said National Task Force Against COVID-19 Special Adviser Dr. Ted Herbosa.

“Very important kasi na ‘pag may na-identify kayo na suspect or na-expose, ma-test agad (It is very important that you test immediately those who were exposed or even a suspect case),” he said during a public press briefing on Wednesday, June 2.

“Walang secret science dito. Talaga test, trace, treat at saka talagang mabilis lang dapat iyong contact tracing (There’s no secret science here. It’s basically test, trace, treat and then your contact tracing should be really fast),” he added.

Such strategy will help in curbing the rising number of infections, said Herbosa.

“So hopefully itong MECQ…. ‘pag ginawa natin kasi ito, hindi naman ito ‘yung maghihinto noong transmission (When we implement MECQ, this is not the strategy that will stop the transmission),” he said.

“Iyong active na paghanap nila ng mga kaso by testing, iyong active na pag-isolate nila noong mga may sintomas at iyong pag-treat noong mga nagkasakit, ito iyong mga importanteng gawin habang nasa MECQ sila at ma-contain agad iyong mabilis na pagdami ng mga kaso (The active case finding by doing testing, isolating those with symptoms, and treating those who are sick are very important strategies while they are still under MECQ. This will help in containing the transmission),” he said.

The following areas are under MECQ until June 15 are: Santiago City, Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Butuan City, and Agusan del Sur.