Duran Duran back with new album

Published May 20, 2021, 6:48 PM

by Punch Liwanag

It’s definitely not “The Reflex” but it’s something new from Duran Duran.

UK band Duran Duran has announced that an album is forthcoming. The 80’s new wave and synth pop group announced this week that their fifteenth album is due on October 22.  

The announcement came with the release of a new single titled “Invisible.” The new single also came with a music video that the band boasted as having been created/produced by an artificial intelligence called Huxley.

Keyboardist and songwriter Nick Rhodes said: “Sonic architecture has always been incredibly important to Duran Duran. I think with “Invisible,” we really have managed to carve the sculpture the way we wanted it. Sonically, it’s a very unusual piece of music. I think when you merge all the instruments together, it creates an overall sound that perhaps you haven’t heard before.”

The new single is produced by Duran Duran and DJ and label head Erol Alkan who has remixed tracks for Bloc Party, The Chemical Brothers, Tame Impala, MGMT and Yeah Yeah Yeahs among others and has co-produced for The Killers.

For the upcoming album, the band has also worked with another key 80’s pop figure in Giorgio Moroder. Then there’s Mark Ronson, Blur guitarist Graham Coxon, former David Bowie keyboardist Mike Garson and singer-songwriter Lykke Li whose signature aesthetics combine modern pop production with throwback pop themes.

Lead singer Simon Le Bon said of the forthcoming set: “When we first went into the studio in late 2018, I was trying to persuade the guys that all we needed to do was write two or three tracks for an EP. Four days later, with the nucleus of 25-plus strong songs in the can, that all deserved development, I realized we’ be in it for the long haul, but that was before Covid.”

Le Bon added: “So here we are in 2021 with our 15th studio album “Future Past,” straining at the leash.”

Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes, bassist John Taylor and drummer Roger Taylor are all founding members of Duran Duran. Graham Coxon of Blur is the guitarist on the new record.