Senate passes bill creating third Bataan district

Published May 17, 2021, 5:56 PM

by Vanne Elaine Terrazola

The Senate approved on third and final reading Monday, May 17, a local bill that would establish a third legislative district in the province of Bataan.

The province of Bataan (Google Maps)

House Bill No. 8664, contained in Committee Report No. 204, hurdled the Upper Chamber as Congress resumed regular sessions after a seven-week recess.

The bill proposes to reapportion Bataan’s two legislative districts to create another district. The reapportionment shall take effect on the next national and local elections after it is signed into law and published.

Under the proposed law, the first legislative district of Bataan shall be composed of the municipalities of Hermosa, Orani, Samal and Abucay.

Balanga City and the municipalities of Orion, Pilar, and Limay would make up the second district.

Meanwhile, Bataan’s third legislative district shall consist of the municipalities of Bagac, Morong, Dinalupihan and Mariveles.

The bill states that the incumbent representatives of Bataan will hold office until new representatives have been elected.

Senator Francis Tolentino, chairman of the Senate Committee on Local Government and sponsor of the bill, said the creation of a third legislative district in Bataan will “pave the way for a more robust development” in the province.

The additional district, he added, “ensures a more effective delivery of unparalleled public services, and the Bataan electorate can look forward to a more responsive governance.”