BI extends travel ban period on countries hit by dreaded Indian COVID variant

Published May 16, 2021, 12:28 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) is implementing the extended travel ban up to the end of the.month for passengers coming from seven countries hit by the highly-contagious Indian coronavirus disease (COVID-19) variant.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente (File photo/ MANILA BULLETIN)

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said he received orders from Malacañang not to allow the entry of travelers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, Nepal starting Saturday, May 15.

Oman and United Arab Emirates were the latest countries to be included in the flight ban.

The travel restriction for the first five Asian states was supposed to end May 14, but was extended up to May 31 as the Indian variant continues to surge.

Filipinos coming from the said countries are also included in the.ban, as well as other passengers who have travel history of visiting the countries during the last 14 days.

BI port operations chief Carlos Capulong said they do not expect any traveler coming from those countries as airline companies were notified about the restriction.

He said, however, that transiting passengers or those who merely stayed at the airport before coming to the Philippines will be allowed entry here.