Voter registration in NCR+ resumes on May 17

Published May 14, 2021, 2:02 PM

by Leslie Ann Aquino

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) said voter registration will resume in the National Capital Region (NCR) Plus area on May 17.


Comelec Executive Director Bartolome Sinocruz, Jr. said voter registration activities will resume in the Offices of Election Officers (OEOs) in Metro Manila, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, and Cavite after it was placed under general community quarantine (GCQ).

“The NCR and the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, and Laguna, that were under MECQ (modified enhanced community quarantine), have been categorized to GCQ,” he said in a virtual press briefing Friday, May 17.

“With that, begining on Monday, the Comelec will be resuming registration in these areas, from Mondays to Fridays, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.,” Sinocruz added.

In his Twitter account, Comelec Spokesman James Jimenez also announced the resumption of voter registration.

“Because its GCQ, #VoterReg will resume on Monday, May 17, 2022. #VoterReg will be from Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. #MagparehistroKa,” said Jimenez.

“Those with appointments are advised to call ahead or check the Facebook pages of the COMELEC offices, where they will #VoterReg,” he added.

Voter registration activities in the NCR Plus area have been suspended after it was placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in March 29, before being shifted to MECQ last April 12.

The NCR Plus area will be placed under GCQ beginning May 15.