Foo Fighters, Jay-Z, Tina Turner lead class of 2021 Rock Hall Of Fame

Published May 13, 2021, 10:53 AM

by Punch Liwanag

From left: Dave Grohl, Tina Turner, and Carole King

You know you’re getting on with age when your fave bands are getting inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced this year’s inductees, led by the Foo Fighters, Tina Turner, Jay-Z, The Go-Go’s, Carole King and prog-rock ace Todd Rundgren. The aforementioned names will be in the Performer’s category.

Meanwhile, the Musical Excellence Award will be accorded to rapper-actor LL Cool J, keyboardist Billy Preston and rock guitar virtuoso Randy Rhoads. While New wave, electro-synth band Kraftwerk, Gil Scott Heron and Charley Patton will get the Early Influence Award. Sussex Records founder Clarence Avant will get the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The induction ceremony is set for October 30, 2021 and will be held at Cleveland’s Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse.

John Sykes chairman of the award giving body commented that “This is our most diverse class in the history of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It really represents the Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor the artists that have created not only rock and roll, but the sound of youth culture.”

For Dave Grohl, Tina Turner and Carole King, this will be the second time they will be inducted at the Hall of Fame. Grohl got his first Hall of Fame nod as drummer for Nirvana back in 2014. Tina Turner’s first was with the Ike & Tina Turner duo in 1991, and Carole King as part of the legendary songwriting team with Gerry Goffin back in 1990.

The 2021 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will be broadcast on HBO Max and will also be streamed on said platform at a later date.