CA with Maynilad ‘critical’ for water security – MWSS

Published April 29, 2021, 5:00 AM

by Madelaine B. Miraflor

Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) hopes that its new concession agreement with west zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services Inc. will soon be released as this is “critical” in implementing projects for water security.

In a statement, MWSS Chairman and Acting Administrator Reynaldo V. Velasco said he is optimistic that a new concession agreement will be reached soon by the government and Maynilad.

This was nearly a month now since the approval and signing of the revised concession agreement between the MWSS and Manila Water Services, Inc.

MWSS Chairman and OIC Administrator Reynaldo V. Velasco (Photo credit:

The concession agreement with Maynilad is now undergoing review by a government panel.

 Maynilad’s capital expenditure projects will rehabilitate and replace old pipelines, install new pipes in unserved areas, construct new pumping stations, reservoirs, and treatment facilities, among others.

He added that a new concession agreement will boost investors’ confidence as many of the investors have adopted a wait-and-see attitude pending the signing of a new concession agreement.

Maynilad’s new CA with MWSS is expected to be similar to that of Manila Water’s.  

The Manila Water new concession agreement is patterned after the New Clark City Water and Wastewater JVA of the Bases conversion Development Authority that was developed with the advise of the Asian Development Bank. 

The agreement protects the interest of government and retains the economic viability of the concession, MWSS said.

The existing concession agreement was entered into in 1997 during the term of President Fidel V. Ramos between the government and the partnership of Benpres and Lyonnaise des Eaux of France and covers the west zone of the concession area.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines serving over 1.4 million customers. It maintains and operates some 6,831 kilometers of primary, secondary and tertiary pipelines.

It also has 35 pumping stations, 32 water reservoirs and 28 in-line boosters across its service area. Its reservoirs have a total holding capacity of over 700 million liters of potable water. 

Maynilad has four water treatment plants: la Mesa Treatment Plants 1 & 2 and Putatan Water Treatment Plants 1 & 2 that produce water according to the PNSDW of the Department of Health.

The west zone concession area is composed of the cities of Manila (certain areas), Quezon City (certain areas), Makati (certain areas), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.