De los Santos keeps hot streak alive, rules 3rd Sportsdata tourney

Published April 24, 2021, 1:13 PM

by Waylon Galvez

James De los Santos widened the distance as the No. 1 ranked e-kata player in the world after he dominated the third leg of the Sportsdata e-Tournament World Series 2021.

De los Santos defeated world No. 2 Matias Moreno Domont of Switzerland in the final round 24.6-24.1 for his 15th gold medal this year, and 51st overall since he joined in online events last April 2020.

It was also the third time this year that De los Santos ruled the Sportsdata meet, which is the biggest in e-kata tournaments as it gives more points to medalists. He won the event’s first two legs.

“I was able to manage and win my 51st gold overall, the biggest virtual kata tournament,” said De los Santos, who acknowledged the support Adonis Colonia for letting him use the dojo (gym) since his main venue (training center) is closed due to Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ).

“For this tournament, I really had to rush my videos, which I submitted the day before the evaluation of the judges. I had to do three katas (performances) before the deadline.”

On his way to the gold medal bout, De los Santos downed Ventor Gjuka of Norway 25-23.8 in the opening round-of-32, edged Ryan Moore of Wales 24.8-23 in the final 16, eliminated David Brierley of England 25.2-24 in the quarterfinal, and ousted world No. 7 Hugh Connolly of Ireland 24.8-24.1 in the semifinal.

So far, De los Santos is on top of the world rankings with 25145 points. The points he earned in the third leg of Sportsdata will be added to his total points in the world ranking for e-tournament players.

He enjoys a huge lead on No. 2 Domont, who has 13365 points, followed by American Alfredo Bustamante at third spot with 10225, Silvio Cerone-Biogioni of South Africa at fourth with 9840 points, and Portugal’s Eduardo Garcia at fifth with 8890 points.

In the top 10 are Nejc Sternisa of Slovenia (6185), Connolly (3810), Jaime Teruel of Dominican Republic (3790), Abdellatif Choukri of Morocco (3580) and Murillo Alves of Brazil (3520).