Duterte signs law dividing Rizal’s second district

Published April 12, 2021, 7:06 PM

by Genalyn Kabiling

A law dividing the second district of Rizal into three legislative districts has been signed by President Duterte.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte

Under Republic Act No. 11533, Rizal’s second district will be composed of the municipalities of Cardona, Baras, Tanay, Morong, Jala-jala, Pililla, and Teresa.

The municipality of San Mateo will become Rizal’s third district while the municipality of Rodriguez will form the fourth district of the province.

The law, signed by the President on March 25, stated that Rizal’s new districts will take effect in the 2022 national and local elections.

“The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary implementing rules and regulations within 30 days after the effectivity of this Act,” the law read.

The law, released by the Palace on April 12, will take effect 15 days after publication in the Official Gazette or a newspaper.

Sen. Francis Tolentino, chairman of the Committee on Local Government and sponsor of the bill, earlier said the measure aims to give Rizal residents proper representation as well as help the local government units to better respond to the needs of the people.

The bill was approved by the Senate last February. The House of Representatives approved its version last June.