Suspension of domestic inbound travel possible in areas other than Western Visayas

Published April 5, 2021, 3:54 PM

by Genalyn Kabiling

Travel restrictions for incoming visitors may be imposed in some provinces based on a latest decision of the task force in charge of pandemic response.

(Photo by Jansen Romero / FILE PHOTO / MANILA BULLETIN)

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has authorized the National Task Force Against COVID-19 chair or his deputy to “act on any similar request for suspension of domestic inbound travel to other jurisdictions.”

The IATF decision came after travelers coming from Greater Manila Area, Cebu City, and Davao City will be temporarily blocked from entering Western Visayas until April 10 as a precaution against the spread of the coronavirus disease.

The task force chaired by Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, has granted the request of the concerned local government unit to impose such suspension on inbound passenger travel to Region VI where the world famous beach destination Boracay Island in Aklan province is located.

Region VI consists of six provinces, namely: Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo and Negros Occidental, and two highly urbanized cities, Bacolod City and Iloilo City.

“The request of Region VI to temporarily suspend inbound passenger travel from National Capital Region, and the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Cebu City, and Davao City to said Region until April 10, 2021 as endorsed by the Department of Interior and Local Government, is hereby approved,” the IATF Resolution No. 108 read.

Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal were first placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from March 29 to April 4 to curb movement and slow down the coronavirus transmission. The strict lockdown however has been extended until April 11 after cases continued to surge in recent days.

As of April 4, the Philippines has 795,051 cases of coronavirus, including 135,526 active cases and 13,425 deaths.

Based on the tally of the Department of Health, Western Visayas has recorded 30,374 cases of coronavirus, including 2,206 active cases and 754 deaths.

Negros Occidental registered the highest number of cases of coronavirus with 7,962, followed by Bacolod City with 6,410, Iloilo with 6,130, Iloilo City with 6,008, and Capiz with 1,567.