DOTr to issue guidelines on public transport during ECQ

Published March 27, 2021, 9:54 PM

by Alexandria Dennise San Juan

Public transportation will still be allowed to operate during the implementation of the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) in Metro Manila and four adjacent provinces which will begin on Monday.

This was announced by Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque on Saturday, March 27, after the government decided to reimpose the strictest quarantine status in Metro Manila, Rizal, Bulacan, Cavite, and Laguna — also known as ‘NCR Plus’ — starting March 29 until April 4.

According to Roque, road, rail, maritime, and aviation sectors of public transportation shall be allowed to operate at a limited capacity subject to protocols to be provided by the Department of Transportation (DOTr).

While the DOTr is yet to announce when to issue the official guidelines, Transportation Assistant Secretary Goddess Libiran said the department is already “working on it.”
Under ECQ, Roque said only those considered as “authorized persons outside residence can travel into and out of the so-called “NCR+ bubble” for essential purposes.

President Duterte first placed the entire Luzon on hard lockdown in mid-March 2020 in an effort to slow the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

During the previous implementation of the ECQ, all modes of public transportation, including railways and land-based transport, have been suspended in Luzon.

The use of private vehicles has been allowed before but only when buying basic necessities.