NXP rules Wild Rift Underground, flexes muscle ahead of Icon Series Preseason

Published March 8, 2021, 6:03 PM

by Jeremiah Sevilla

Photo from Nexplay Esports Facebook page 

Nexplay Esports flexed its strength ahead of the League of Legends: Wild Rift Southeast Asia Icon Series Preseason as it dominated the inaugural season of the Wild Rift Underground. 

Nexplay only dropped a single game in the upper bracket en route to crushing DR Esports, 4-1, in the grand finals on Sunday, March 7, to take the P35,000 champion’s prize in the eight-team tournament. 

It was the second straight title for NXP after ruling the Bit Wars Invitational with a 3-1 finals victory over South Korea’s GLuck Gaming last Feb. 28. 

The emerging Wild Rift powerhouse team also snared its sixth overall title this year so far. 

After dropping the finals opener, NXP quickly drew level behind jungler Juschie “Juschie” Tan’s Lee Sin and mid laner Aaron Mark “Chuley” Bingay’s Aurelion Sol in Game 2. 

Chuley sustained his stellar performance with Orianna in Game 3 and Aurelion Sol again in Games 4 and 5 to eventually seal the deal. 

NXP actually stuck to the same winning lineup in the last two games featuring Juschie’s Jarvan, ADC Jovannie “Ooozee” Colong’s Miss Fortune, baron laner Miguel “Arisen” Pison and support Jazzfer “Dizastr” Villahermosa’s Braum. 

NXP, the Week 5 winner, took down VVV Conqueror (2-1) in the upper bracket quarterfinals, DR in the semifinals (2-0) and Apex Predator (2-0) in the finals. 

Meanwhile, Week 6 winner DR got the runner-up prize of P20,000 as it defeated Sunsparks (2-0) in the upper bracket before beating Execration (2-1), VVV (2-0) and Apex (2-0) in the lower bracket. 

Icon Series Preseason invites Execration and Sunsparks finished in the 5th-6th and 7th-8th places, respectively. 

NXP and rival Smart Omega are expected to be the heavy favorites come the Philippine leg of the Icon Series Preseason slated on March 20-21. 

Also invited to compete in Riot Games’ launch pad for the competitive Wild Rift scene are Bren Esports, Team Secret PH, Rex Regum Qeon (RRQ) PH and Liyab Esports.