PBAPC Awards Night: Marcial is Mr. Executive

Published March 4, 2021, 2:21 PM

by Manila Bulletin Sports

Photo from PBA

The man credited for the successful staging of the PBA Philippine Cup bubble will have his share of the limelight during the PBA Press Corps virtual Awards Night on Sunday at the TV5 Media Center.

The men and women who cover the PBA beat is bestowing the title Mr. Executive to Commissioner Willie Marcial for bravely leading the way for the 500-plus strong league delegation in Clark, Pampanga to successfully stage the restart of the 45th season.

The bubble was without a hitch, but Marcial, strong-minded and firm in his decisions, managed to navigate a troubled season into safe waters and put a fitting end to what had been the most challenging period in the history of Asia’s first ever play-for-pay league.

Marcial serves as one of the major awardees in the hour-long event presented by Cignal TV. The program will be aired on March 8 over PBA Rush.

Along with Marcial, the 2019 recipient of the traditional Danny Floro Executive of the Year award, PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas, will also be honored during the presentation to be hosted by Rizza Diaz and Carlo Pamintuan.

One more award in the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble will be named.

The 12 teams which went out of their way in order not to cancel the PBA season are the recipient of the bubble President’s Award together with 2019 winner Vergel Meneses, the current Bulakan, Bulacan mayor and one of the 25 Greatest Players in league history.San Miguel mentor Leo Austria also gets a piece of center stage as the awardee for the 2019 Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year as well as NorthPort veteran Sean Anthony who will be honored as the 2019 Defensive Player of the Year.

Other awards to be given include Top Bubble D-Fender (Justine Chua), All-Bubble D-Fenders (Calvin Abueva, Chris Ross, Mark Barroca, Christian Standhardinger, and Chua), Mr. Quality Minutes (RJ Jazul), Scoring Champ (CJ Perez), Game of the Bubble (Barangay Ginebra-Meralco Game 5 semis) and the All-Rookie Team (Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido).

A special citation meanwhile, will be handed out to the PBA staff for its non-stop work to ensure the well-being of the Clark bubble.