Abanse Negrense A, Sta. Lucia A dispute PSL beach volley crown

Published February 28, 2021, 2:40 PM

by Jeremiah Sevilla

Abanse Negrese A’s Alexa Polidario and Erjane Magdato (Screenshot from PSL’s Youtube channel)

Abanse Negrense A and Sta. Lucia A arranged a winner-take-all battle for the 2021 Gatorade-Philippine Superliga (PSL) Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup after taking down their respective foes in the semifinals Sunday morning, Feb. 28, at the SBMA Sands Court in Subic, Zambales.

Alexa Polidario and Erjane Magdato of Abanse Negrense A replicated their pool stage victory over veterans Bang Pineda and Jonah Sabete of Sta. Lucia B, 21-18, 21-12, to book the first ticket to the finals of the historic volleyball tournament under a bubble concept.

“I’m so thankful and blessed to be part of the PSL’s return. Making it to the championship is just a bonus,” said Magdato as she became part of the first volleyball and non-professional sporting event that was given the go signal amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The best is yet to come and we still have a lot to show in the championship game,” added the veteran beach tosser from University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos.

DM Demontano and Jackie Estoquia of Sta. Lucia A denied an all-Negrense finale as they outplayed Gelimae Villanueva and Jennifer Cosas in a thrilling match, 21-18, 16-21, 15-9.

Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontano Sta. Lucia A (Screenshot from PSL’s Youtube channel)

Demontano and Estoquia were eager to finally hand the Lady Realtors their first PSL beach volley title in their third consecutive finals appearance.

“Everybody wants to win the title and you can’t measure the eagerness of both teams in the finals,” said Demontano.“We will do our best in our third straight finals appearance to finally give a title to Sta. Lucia.”

Abanse Negrense A and Sta. Lucia A will duke it out for the prestigious trophy at 5 p.m. later.

Meanwhile, Pineda and Sabete will clash against Villanueva and Cosas for the bronze medal while Jennymar Senares and Kyla Angela Gallego of F2 Logistics will square off with Ella Viray and Theresa Ramas of United Auctioneers for fifth place.

Locking horns to avoid a last place finish in the eight-team tilt are Jonah San Pedro and Javen Sabas of Toby’s Sports versus Ariane Alarcon and Christina Canares of guest team Kennedy Solar Energy-Petro Gazz as of this posting.