What’s your love language?

Published February 13, 2021, 9:46 AM

by Gabriela Baron

Do you know what your love language is?

According to American author and radio host Gary Chapman, love languages are ways that romantic partners express and experience love.


Chapman originally wrote the book “The 5 Love Languages” in 1992 and has sold over 12 million copies since.

Not everyone communicates love in the same way and people have different ways they prefer to receive love, too. 

Chapman listed five different love languages of expressing and receiving love: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of services, and physical touch,

Words of affirmation

This love language expresses love with words, praise, or appreciation that build up your partner. The shortest and simplest compliments can be the most effective:

“You look good today!”

“I feel so lucky to have you.”

Quality time

People whose love language is quality time feel the most loved when their partner actively wants to spend time with them. 

How to communicate: when you are with your partner, put down your phone, turn off the tablet, and focus on them.

Physical touch

To a person whose love language uses physical touch, they feel more connected and safe in a relationship by holding hands or receiving a hug, a pat on the head, or a kiss.

Receiving gifts

People with this love language feel that gift-giving is symbolic of love and affection.
“They treasure not only the gift itself but also the time and effort the gift giver put into it. What’s more, they do not necessarily expect large or expensive gifts, the love language receiving gifts is more what is behind the gift that appeals to them,” Verywellmind noted.

Acts of service

When someone’s love language is acts of service, they feel loved and appreciated when people do nice things for them.

Actions to take: Helping them with the dishes, making them coffee, or cleaning for them when they have had a busy day at work.