Taylor Swift to release new version of ‘Fearless’ with six new songs

Published February 11, 2021, 11:58 PM

by John Legaspi

Her ‘Love Story (Taylor’s Version)’ is now available for pre-order

Taylor Swift

American pop singer Taylor Swift announces through a social media post that she will be releasing a newly recorded version of “Fearless,” coinciding her plan to control her songs outright, according to the New York Times

“‘Fearless’ was an album full of magic and curiosity, the bliss and devastation of youth. It was the diary of the adventures and explorations of a teenage girl who was learning tiny lessons with every new crack in the façade of the fairytale ending she’d been shown in the movies,” the 31-year-old singer says. “I’m thrilled to tell you that my new version of ‘Fearless’ is done and will be with you soon. It’s called ‘Fearless (Taylor’s version)’ and it includes 26 songs.”

Taylor also mentioned that six out of the 26 songs are “never before released songs from the vault.”

Apart from the photo, which seems to recreate the 2008 album’s cover, Swifties also pieced out the breadcrumbs she left on her message (all characters are in lowercase except for a few letters), spelling out April 9, 2021 as the supposed release date of her new work. 

The 2008 “Fearless” was the singer’s second studio album that incorporates both country and pop genres. It features singles “Fifteen,” “White Horse,” and “You Belong With Me, which won the Best Female Video honor at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards—yes, that moment immortalized by the infamous Kanye West interference. The album also went on to snag the prestigious Album of the Year Award at the 52nd Grammys, making Taylor the youngest winner at that time at age 20.

Currently, her “Love Story (Taylor’s Version)” is available for pre-order here.