Who are allowed to enter PH after end of travel ban on 36 countries?

Published January 30, 2021, 5:43 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) is lifting the travel restrictions on 36 countries with new COVID-19 variants starting Feb 1, following a directive from the Inter-Agency Task Force Against Emerging and infectious Diseases (IATF).


But BI Commissioner Jaime Morente clarified that other travel restrictions remain in place.

“We are still limiting the entry of foreign nationals, and tourists are still not allowed to enter the country,” he added.

The BI chief said current restrictions only allow the entry of accredited foreign diplomats and personnel of accredited international organizations like the World Health Organization (WHO) and those for medical and emergency cases.

Foreign spouse and minor children of Filipinos, children with special needs regardless of age of Filipinos, foreign parent of minor Filipinos, and foreign parent of Filipino children with special needs regardless of age will also be allowed entry.

Permanent residents under Philippine Immigration Act and Executive Order (EO) 324, and those with Native Born visas as well as married to Filipinos with Permanent and Temporary Resident Visas are allowed entry.

Investors with an EO 226 visa, Special Investors Resident Visa issued by the Department of Justice, and Treaty Traders visa will also be allowed, together with those with economic zone visas.

Additionally, holders of Section 9(g) visas who left the country starting December 17, 2020 may return upon presentation of a valid ACr I-Card and Special Return Certificate.

Except for those qualified as balikbayans, all exempted foreign nationals are required to have a valid visa at the time of entry, with a pre-booked accommodation for at least seven nights in a quarantine facility.