BI restricts entry to foreign travelers from Czech Republic

Published January 27, 2021, 3:23 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) has included foreign travellers from the Czech Republic in the list of 35 countries restricted from entering the country due to the new and deadlier type of coronavirus-29.

Bureau of Immigration (BI) (MANILA BULLETIN)

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente made the announcement after receiving instructions from Malacanang to include alien travellers from the Eastern European country in the travel ban.

“We have received a directive expanding the travel restrictions to include aliens coming from the Czech Republic, or those who have been there within 14 days prior to arrival in the Philippines,” said Morente.

The BI chief said the ban will take effect midnight of January 28.

This brought to 36 the number of countries under travel restricted status.

The BI is implementing a travel ban on aliens with a travel history within the last 14 days from the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, The People’s Republic of China, including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain, the United States, Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, Brazil, Austria, Pakistan, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, and Hungary.

In 2020, there were only 3,184 Czechs who entered the Philippines before the country imposed the travel restrictions.