LandBank sets up ‘Agri-Hubs’ to be more accessible

Published January 15, 2021, 5:30 AM

by Madelaine B. Miraflor

In a bid to be more accessible to farmers and fishermen, state-run Land Bank of the Philippines (LandBank) had set up different ‘Agri-Hubs’ across the country.

In a statement, LandBank said that it has established the first four Agri-Hubs in December to bring financial services closer to more farmers and fishers.

The Agri-Hubs will provide banking, lending and agrarian services in the country’s top rice-producing provinces and unbanked and underserved rice farming areas.

LandBank inaugurated its first-ever Agri-Hub in the Municipality of Calabanga, Camarines Sur to service farmers and fishers from the area, alongside neighboring municipalities of Siruma, Bombon, Magarao, and Tinambac.

The next to be established was the Barotac Viejo Agri-Hub in Iloilo, which will serve the 26 barangays of the Municipality of Barotac Viejo, as well as the nearby towns of Banate and San Rafael.

LandBnk also opened the Sual Agri-Hub in Pangasinan, the first Agri-Hub in North Luzon, which will bring the Bank’s services closer to farmers and fishers in the Municipality of Sual and Labrador.

Meanwhile, there is also the Echague Agri-Hub in Isabela, which will cater primarily to the 2,533 farmers within the 64 barangays in the municipality.

“Amidst the ongoing pandemic, LandBank remains steadfast in delivering safe and reliable financial services to unbanked and underserved communities in the country,” said LandBank President and CEO Cecilia C. Borromeo.

“We will continue to intensify support and respond to the developing needs of the agriculture sector, most especially the small farmers and fishers,” she added.

In addition, LandBank inaugurated its newest branch in the Municipality of Balingasag, Misamis Oriental on December 28, 2020. This is the bank’s eight branch in the province complemented by 59 ATMs.

The LandBank Balingasag Branch will serve the banking and financing needs of more than 3,000 farmers and fishers covering the municipalities of Balingasag, Jasaan, Lagonglong, and Salay.

LandBank now has a total of 411 branches and 65 branch-lites across all 81 provinces nationwide.