3 Iloilo towns allow return of LSIs, OFWs

Published November 3, 2020, 3:55 PM

by Tara Yap

ILOILO CITY—Three towns in Iloilo province began allowing the return of overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) and locally stranded individuals (LSIs) and overseas Filipino workers (OFWs).

This was after the Western Visayas Regional Task Force on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

lifted the weeklong moratorium on the return of LSIs and OFWs to the towns of Barotac Nuevo and San Dionisio beginning Tuesday, November 3.

The town of Leganes will lift its moratorium by Friday, November 6.

In Resolution No. 52, the regional COVID-19 task force said the moratorium was needed to allow the local government units of Barotac Nuveo, San Dionisio and Leganes to be able to cater LSIs and OFWs at its isolation facilities.

These isolation facilities were fully booked during the past week as it has been used to quarantine residents who are suspected to have COVID-19.

Meanwhile, the province of Iloilo recorded 82 new COVID-19 cases as of November 2.

Data from the Iloilo Provincial Health Office found that the town of San Joaquin had the most number of new COVID-19 cases with 14.  It was followed by the component city of Passi and Guimbal town, which had 10 cases each.