BTS, BLACKPINK, 5 other K-pop acts nominated at 2020 MTV EMA

Published October 7, 2020, 9:29 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

Seven K-pop acts including powerhouses BTS and BLACKPINK have been nominated for the 2020 MTV Europe Music Awards (MTV EMA) that will be held on Nov. 8.

MTV EMA announced the nominees in 16 main categories and 29 best local act categories in different regions around the world.

BTS got five nominations: Best Song, Best Pop, Best Group, Biggest Fans and Best Virtual Live. BLACKPINK received three: Best Group, Best Collaboration and Biggest Fans.

BTS’ “Dynamite” is up for Best Song along with DaBaby’s “Rockstar” featuring Roddy Ricch, Dua Lipa’s “Don’t Start Now,” Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande’s “Rain on Me,” Roddy Ricch’s “The Box” and The Weeknd’s “Blinding Lights.

The nominees for Best Pop are BTS, Dua Lipa, Harry Styles, Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry and Little Mix.

BTS’ “Bang Bang Con: The Live” online concert held on June 14 is nominated for Best Virtual Live, competing against J Balvin’s “Behind The Colores Live Experience,” Katy Perry’s “@ Tomorrow Land – Around The World,” Little Mix’s “UNCancelled,” Maluma’s “Papi Juancho Live” and Post Malone’s “Nirvana Tribute.”

(Clockwise from top left) BTS, BLACKPINK, ASTRO, Victon, Everglow, Kard and Stray Kids (Twitter)

BTS and BLACKPINK are running for Biggest Fans against Ariana Grande, Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift.

In the Best Group category, BTS and BLACKPINK are also nominated along with 5 Seconds of Summer, Chloe x Halle, CNCO and Little Mix.

BLACKPINK’s “Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez) is nominated for Best Collaboration against Cardi B’s “WAP” featuring Megan Thee Stallion, DaBaby’s “Rockstar” featuring Roddy Ricch, Justin Bieber’s “Intentions” featuring Quavo, Karol G’s “Tusa” featuring Nicki Minaj, Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande’s “Rain on Me,” and Sam Smith and Demi Lovato’s “I’m Ready.”

The nominees for Best Korea Act are boy bands ASTRO, Victon and Stray Kids, Kard, and girl group Everglow. Last year, boy band ATEEZ won the award, Loona in 2018, GFriend in 2017, BAP in 2016, BTS in 2015, BAP in 2014 and EXO in 2013.

According to rules, “The voting period for the Main Categories, except for (i) Biggest Fans, and (ii) Best Video, starts on October 6, 2020 at 12:00 p.m. CET and ends on November 2, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. CET [5:59 a.m. on Nov. 3 in the Philippines].”